For the second year in a row, Pratt Community College will recognize outstanding athletes who have participated in sports and graduated from PCC.

For the second year in a row, Pratt Community College will recognize outstanding athletes who have participated in sports and graduated from PCC.

Last year PCC opened the Athletic Hall of Fame and inducted the first class of 23 members. This year 15 more will be inducted on April 13 at 4 p.m. in Carpenter Auditorium, in  conjunction with PCC’s 75 Anniversary.

“We thought this was a great event to hold during the anniversary because it allows alumni to come back to be inducted and be involved in the celebration events,” said Kurt McAfee, athletic director.  “They are some of the people who have made this place great over the past 75 years, so it only made sense to have them be a part of the event.”

During the ceremony, each inductee will be recognized and given a plaque. They will then be able to tell a little bit about themselves and their experiences at PCC.

“We are excited to be honoring people that have not only made their mark here but went on made their mark elsewhere as well,” McAfee said, of this year’s class, that involved four inductees who played professional football.

This year’s hall of fame inductees are: Bill Larson -Football 1971-1972, All-Conference 1972, Winner Mid-America Bowl 1972, played in the NFL 1975-1980; Joe Searles -Football 1959-1961, All American 1961, played for the New York Giants ; Tony Elliot - Football 1980, fifth round draft pick 1982 and played for the New Orleans Saints 1982-1988; Bob Stankovich - Football 1965-1966, All American 1966, drafted by the Kansas City Chiefs 1970; Ken Sargeant - Track 1960-1962, All American 1962; Shawn Johns - Track 1986-1987, All American 1987, PCC record holder in the decathlon and 4X100 Relay 1987; Gretchen Semsroth - Track 1986-1988, All American 1987; Gary Blosser - Wrestling 1970-1972, All American 1972; Shawn Jamison - Basketball 1988-1989, All American 1989; Jennifer Paynter - Softball 2000-2002, All American 2002; Steve Neal - Baseball 1996-1998, 32 Career Home Runs, .513 Single Season Batting Average, .446 Career Batting Average 25th round draft pick Arizona Diamondbacks 1998; Krystle McCorgary - Golf 2003-2005, 2005 All American and Academic All- American; James Lemley - Golf 2002-2003, 2003 All-American; Kenny Wetzel - Tennis 1965-1967 Region VI Men’s Tennis Champion 1966 and 1967; Tyrone Crouch - Rodeo, bareback bronc rider 1986-1988.

Hall of Fame members are decided by a team of stake holders, longtime residents in the community, staff, coaches and PCC alumni to put together criteria for athletes to be in the hall of fame and also to pick this year’s inductees.

The committee decided that the hall of fame would be open to individuals who have made outstanding contributions as a superior competitor, a team with a significant accomplishment, a coach with a distinguished record, an administrator who has made an exemplary contribution through strong leadership or an individual who brought distinction to the athletic program in other ways.

For more information on this year’s Hall of Fame, the 75 Anniversary or to nominate someone for next year’s Hall of Fame contact McAfee at or 620.450.2154.