The Kansas State High School Activities Association has announced the football districts for the next two football seasons, 2014-15.

The Kansas State High School Activities Association has announced the football districts for the next two football seasons, 2014-15. One major change is that the new split of 4A goes into effect and there will be two divisions of play in 4A.
As one of the smaller schools in 4A, PHS will compete in 4A div II. Pratt High’s new district will consist of Larned, Hugoton and Holcomb. With the shuffling of districts among PHS’ other current opponents impacting their scheduling flexibility, and new schools being added to the CKL, there were going to have to be some changes the schedule anyway. The way things shook out, PHS athletic director Curtis Nightingale needed to find one additional game.
 As a result, Pratt will play a home-and-home series in 2014-15 against 2A Plainville, with the 2014 match-up held at Zerger..
“You never know going into the District Assignment meeting how it will pan out. You usually walk in there with three-four scenarios and then what you get is out of left field. This year however, it was pretty straightforward,” Nightingale explained. “We knew it would give our schedule fits if it went that way (Larned in our district) because our league schedule had us playing Larned week two. I had a couple of options we scouted out, but those schools' respective districts became problematic for our plans. So we had to drop back and regroup."
"In the end, we did what we felt was best for our patrons and it didn't hurt that we were able to help a sister school out in Plainville,” Nightingale continued. “They found themselves looking at drives to Chanute, or Horton, if we didn't pick them up. They are a smaller school, but they have a great tradition for football there and it will be a tough match-up for us. I think all around, it was the best option we had available."
Therefore, the PHS football schedule next year looks like this:  Lyons A, Plainville H, Hoisington A, Kingman H, Nickerson A, Hesston H, Hugoton A, Holcomb H, Larned A.
Skyline’s 8-man division I district remains very nearly the same, with one exception. Fairfield moves down to 8-man division II, so Skyline’s district will have 6 teams instead of 7. The other teams besides Skyline will continue to be Macksville , Kiowa County, South Central, Kinsley and St. John. The T-Birds will face those 5 teams in that order the final 5 weeks of the year.
To open the season, Skyline has South Barber  and Cunningham, the same as this year except for who’s home. Weeks 3 & 4 will be different, however. Skyline AD Andrew Nation announced that Pretty Prairie  and Attica will replace Otis-Bison and Fairfield on the schedule.
So Skyline’s schedule next year looks like this: South Barber A, Cunningham H, Pretty Prairie A, Attica A, Macksville H, Kiowa County A, South Central H, Kinsley H, St. John A.