Editor's Note: This is one of several stories in a Pratt Community College Diamond Jubilee special section inserted in Thursday's print edition.

Each year Pratt Community College picks one alumni who has shown success to become the alumnus of the year.

Steven E. Eubank was picked to be the 2013 Outstanding Alumnus of the Year. He attended the college in 1968 and 1969 and completed at least 30 credit hours, as required for the award.

"Steven is known statewide and have received many honors for his musical accomplishments," said Jim Startford, vice-president of instruction.

The ceremony will take place on April 13 at 3 p.m. in Carpenter Auditorium. During that time he will speak about his time at PCC, along with his accomplishments.

Eubank has been a vocal music educator in Kansas and Missouri since 1973. He received his post-secondary education from Pratt Community College and Friends University in Wichita (BME), with graduate studies at Wichita State University, the University of Kansas, and St. Louis University. He started his teaching career in Belle Plaine, Kan.

The bulk of his professional life he has made music at Topeka High School, with a six year intermission at Parkway Central High School in Chesterfield, Missouri.

He was the Northeast District Choral Chair (1982) for the Kansas Music Educators Association, and was on the Missouri MENC Teacher Evaluation Committee (1987). His affiliation with the American Choral Directors Association, and the Kansas chapter of ACDA is extensive. He was on the KCDA Board of directors, and served as its president from 2000-2001. Eubank was the high school Repertoire and Standards Chair for the Southwest Division of ACDA from 2003-2004. He provided a similar service to the Kansas State High School Activities Association in 2001 with the establishment of the Required Vocal Music List. He is a founding member of the Topeka Young Artists Board, and has been a choral clinician and adjudicator throughout the Midwest.

Eubank's choirs have a reputation for excellence. His high school groups have appeared numerous times at the KMEA Inservice Workshop, and were a featured group at an ACDA convention.

In his tenure at Topeka High School he has directed over 35 major musicals. (In 2007 the Topeka High School production of High School Musical was featured on two separate airings of ABC's Good Morning America.) He was the director of the Topeka Symphony Chorus and is the current conductor of the Lawrence Civic Choir.

He is also the director of the Topeka First United Methodist Church choir. While in St. Louis he was a core member of the St. Louis Symphony Chorus.

Honors include the Kansas Federated Music Clubs Music Educator of the Year (2002), the Northeast Kansas Music Educators Association Choral Teacher of the Year (2003)(2009), and the KCDA Harry Robert Wilson Award for Excellence in Choral Music (2004), Topeka Public Schools Teacher of the Year (2008), and nominated for Kansas Teacher of the Year (2009), inducted into the Kansas Music Educator's Hall of Fame (2010).

Eubank is known for his enthusiastic, passionate teaching. His approach insures that students will become life-long music participants and/or appreciators.

In year's past the Alumnus of the Year has spoken during graduation but the date was changed this year to be part of PCC's 75 anniversary celebration.

"We wanted to make the celebration a special time for other alumni and friends to come to Pratt," said Jody Jorns, director of development. "We wanted to have many of the important events during this weekend so people can enjoy everything at one time."

Eubank's wife, Evelyn Lutes Eubank, was named Outstanding Alumnus of the Year in 1983. They are the only couple to both win the recognition, according to Jorns.

Outstanding Alumnus

Dr. L.W. Mohney

Donald Troutman

Dorotha Giannangelo

Paul Watson

Dr. Norman D. Eckhoff

Evelyn Lutes Eubank

Richard Kerschen

Donald Woolfolk

Georgia Ptacek

Dr. Edward Wade

Dr. Gale Simons

Greg Morris

Kurt Watson

Dr. Ronald Herd

Clarence Beck

Kevin V. Saunders

Keith & Cynthia Renner

Vernon M. Wegerer

Marvin L. Proctor

Keith Philpott

Dr. R. Todd Topham

Dr. R. Larry Beamer

James W. Eubank

William Lang

Mario Bonilla

Thomas D. Broomfield

Bill Hunter

Nancy Fisher Landers

Jarrod Allerheiligen

Brison Manor

Deb Harrison Miller

Brig. Gen. Victor Braden

Leanne Hitt Irsik

Brian Lindshield, PhD

Damon T. Hininger

Joseph L. Searles III

Note: The award was given in 1967, 1968 and 1969 and every year since 1982.