Pratt Wrestling Club members receive awards and recognition for hard-work.

The Pratt Wrestling Club (PWC) hosted their end-of-season awards picnic at Lemon Park on Wednesday, August 7.

“The awards picnic is an important part of recognizing kids who have worked hard and achieved their goals,” said head coach Daniel Prater.

Each year the club gives out a multitude of awards to recognize children of every age group from 6- and-under to 14-and-under. The awards for each age group include Outstanding Newcomer, Most Improved, and Outstanding Wrestler.

This year, the most select individual awards went to four wrestlers. Taye Wilson won Most Pins, with a total of 23 pins throughout the season. Blake Winsor received Overall Most Inspirational. The Overall Most Outstanding awards were won by two wrestlers, Logan Copus and Taye Wilson.

PWC wrestlers received a chance during the season to be on the Elite Team. Competitors had to complete physical challenges such as 20 pull-ups, 100 push-ups, and more.

Along with community service and good grades, members of the team wrote goals for the season. This year, four wrestlers passed the test: Logan Copus, Koda Dipman, Dalton Weber, and Taye Wilson. Coaches awarded a plaque and a new singlet to these wrestlers.

After the picnic, the wrestlers and their families were treated to a pool party at the Pratt Public Pool as a reward for all their hard work throughout the season.

“We have a lot of dedicated guys and parents who bring kids to a lot of national and local tournaments,” said Prater. “Our kids show a lot of heart and hard work ethics. Wrestling is one of the only sports where dedication beats natural talent.”

Dedication to the sport led to nine PWC wrestlers qualifying for state this year, with four of them placing: Blake Winsor, 2nd; Taye Wilson, 2nd; Logan Copus, 3rd; and Koda Dipman, 5th. A few wrestlers even competed in Freestyle and Greco divisions.

At the state freestyle tournament, Devon Weber placed 1st while Bryce Winsor placed 3rd. At the state Greco tournament, Weber got 3rd and Winsor got 4th.