Patrol officer and natural resource officers reach training milestones.

A Pratt patrol officer (Jeremy Stitt) and two Pratt-based natural resource officers with the Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks and Tourism (Spencer Anderson and Colter Silhan) were among 22 two law enforcement officers who graduated from the Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center (KLETC) Nov. 1.

Sheriff Jeff Richards,  Franklin County Sheriff’s Office, was the speaker in KLETC’s Integrity Auditorium for the ceremony during which the new officers, members of the 258th basic training class at the center, graduated as the first class of the new 24-person basic training class format. Under the new class format, basic training classes start more frequently and feature smaller group sizes, with a new class starting every three weeks. Located one mile west and one mile south of Yoder, near Hutchinson, the center is a division of University of Kansas Professional & Continuing Education.
The graduates, who began their training July 29, represented 21 municipal, county and state law enforcement agencies from across Kansas.
Graduates receive certificates of course completion from KLETC and Kansas law enforcement certification from the Kansas Commission on Peace Officers’ Standards and Training, the state’s law enforcement licensing authority. The training course fulfills the state requirement for law enforcement training. Classroom lectures and hands-on applications train officers to solve increasingly complex problems they face in the line of duty.
Established by the Kansas Legislature in 1968, the center trains the majority of municipal, county and state law enforcement officers in Kansas and oversees the training of the remaining officers at seven authorized and certified academy programs operated by local law enforcement agencies and the Kansas Highway Patrol.
More than 300 officers enroll annually in KLETC 14-week basic training programs. The center offers continuing education and specialized training to over 10,000 Kansas officers each year.
Graduates who granted permission to release their names are listed below by agency.
Barton County
Great Bend Police Department; Matthew Adams; patrol officer; Great Bend
Bourbon County
Fort Scott Police Department; Trey Sharp; special agent; Fort Scott
Butler County
Butler County Sheriff’s Office; Kole Marshall; deputy; El Dorado
Butler Community College Public Safety; Allen Peck; patrol officer; El Dorado
Andover Police Department; James Wilkinson; patrol officer; Andover
Cherokee County
Baxter Springs Police Department; Stephanie McBeth; patrol officer; Baxter Springs
Finney County
Finney County Sheriff’s Office; Ruben Alba; deputy; Garden City
Franklin County
Franklin County Sheriff’s Office; Brandon Barkley; deputy; Ottawa
Jewell County
Jewell County Sheriff’s Department; Hunter Burger; deputy; Mankato
Kingman County
Kingman County Sheriff’s Office; Matthew Purcell; deputy; Kingman
Miami County
Osawatomie Dept. of Public Safety; Sydney LeStourgeon; patrol officer; Osawatomie
Morton County
Morton County Sheriff’s Department; Craig Harrington; deputy; Elkhart
Osage County
Osage County Sheriff’s Office; James Cason; deputy; Lyndon
Pratt County
Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks and Tourism; Spencer Anderson; natural resource officer; Pratt
Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks and Tourism; Colter Silhan; natural resource officer; Pratt
Pratt Police Department; Jeremy Stitt; patrol officer; Pratt.
Stafford County
Stafford County Sheriff’s Department; Gregory McAlister; deputy; St. John.