Lineup set

for Mid-South

OKLAHOMA CITY — The field has been set for the 2017 NAIA Mid-South Championships Sept. 25 and 26 at the Sand Creek Station golf course in Newton.

The tournament is hosted by Oklahoma City University. Other teams competing include Southwestern, MidAmerica Christian, Murray State (Okla.), Grand View College, Johnson & Wales (Fla.), Oklahoma Wesleyan, Northwest Ohio, Culver-Stockton, Mt. Mercy, Wayland Baptist, Sterling, William Woods and Hastings.

Grand View is the defending NAIA champion. William Woods tied for fourth. Oklahoma City was sixth. Wayland Baptist was seventh. Johnson & Wales tied for eighth. Oklahoma Wesleyan qualified for nationals.

SAND CREEK STATION TO HOST KANSAS AMATEUR — Sand Creek Station won a bid to host the 2022 Kansas State Amateur Championships.

The tournament, which finished its 107th edition in mid July, is one of the premier events held by the Kansas Golf Association.

The 2017 Kansas Amateur drew 242 entries. Six qualifying tournaments reduced the field to 86 players who competed at the main tournament.

After two rounds of stroke play, the field is cut to 64. Six rounds of match play over four days determines the winner.

It was held at Sand Creek Station in 2012 with Kyle Smell winning the title. The current champion is Gage Ihrig, who also won the Railer, Kansas Stroke Play Championship, held annually at Sand Creek Station.

Wichita wins

division title

ST. PAUL, Minn. — For the eighth time in team history and the seventh year in a row, the Wichita Wingnuts won a division title with an 8-x win over the St. Paul Saints Tuesday night in American Association play at CHS Field in St. Paul.

Wichita improves to 53-34. Even if Wichita would have lost the game, the Wingnuts still would have clinched by virtue of Cleburne’s 9-4 loss to the Kansas City T-Bones. The Railroaders fell to 13 games behind Wichita. The Wingnuts have 12 games remaining, while Cleburne has 11.

Wichita wins the division by its largest margin since 1914 (15 games over Laredo).

Wichita remains two games behind Lincoln for the top record in the league.

Tony Thomas hit two home runs for the Saints, finishing two for four at the plate.

Wichita opened the game with a Christian Stringer triple on the second pitch of the game, scoring on a Martin Medina single. Medina scored on a Zac Fisher single. Brennan Salgado also drove in a run on a single.

The Saints came back with a Thomas solo home run in the second inning.

T.J. Mittelstaedt hit a one-out double in the top of the third, scoring on a Richard Prigatano single.

Thomas opened the bottom of the fourth with a solo shot. Prigatano countered with a solo home run for Wichita in top of the sixth. Dan Johnson opened the bottom of the sixth with a solo home run.

Martin Medina drove in a run with a ground out in the top of the ninth, followed by RBI singles for Brent Clevlen and Mittelstaedt.

Mittelstaedt finished the game four of five hitting. Prigatano and Tyler Sullivan each finished two for four.

Wichita starter Eddie Medina (8-3) went five innings for the win, allowing two runs on four hits with three walks and six strikeouts. Tyler Kane allowed a run on a hit in the sixth. Mike Devine allowed two hits with three strikeouts in the seventh. James Campbell gave up a hit with two strikeouts in the eighth.

Ryan Kussmaul walked two and struck out two in the ninth.

St. Paul’s Jason Hoope (0-3) lasted six innings, allowing five runs on nine hits with six strikeouts. Chandler Hawkins pitched two scoreless innings, allowing a hit with a walk and striking out two. Ivan Vieitez pitched the ninth, allowing three runs on four hits with two strikeouts.

Brady Shoemaker finished two for four for the Saints.

St. Paul falls to 45-43, eight games behind Winnipeg in the AA North. Both teams have 12 games to play. St. Paul also is 4 1/2 games behind Gary for the wild card spot.

Wichita and St. Paul play at 7:05 p.m. today in the third game of a four-game series.


St. Paul;010;000;000;—3;8;1

E.Medina (W, 8-3), Kane 6, Devine 7, Campbell 8 and M.Medina; Hoppe (L,0-3 ), Hawkins 7, Vietiez 9 and Lubach. HR — W: Prigatano (7). SP: Thomas 2 (16, 17), Johnson (3). Time — 3:12. Attendance — 8,018.

American Association





St. Paul;45;43;.511;8

Sioux Falls;41;46;.471;11.5




Kansas City;49;39;.557;6.5

Sioux City;39;48;.448;16






x-clinched division title.

Tuesday’s games

Fargo-Moorhead 3, Sioux Falls 2 (first game)

Sioux Falls 6, Fargo-Moorhead 5 (second game)

Gary SouthShore 10, Lincoln 9

Winnipeg 4, Sioux City 3

Texas 6, Salina 5

Wichita 8, St. Paul 3

Kansas City 9, Cleburne 4

Today’s games

Gary SouthShore at Lincoln 11 a.m.

Sioux City at Winnipeg 7 p.m.

Wichita at St. Paul 7:05 p.m.

Cleburne at Kansas City 7:05 p.m.

Fargo-Moorhead at Sioux Falls 7:05 p.m.

Salina at Texas 7:05 p.m.