Pratt forensics successful at Medicine Lodge

Rose Beilman
Pratt High School forenscis team members pictured at Medicine Lodge include (back row, from left) Rafe Donnenwerth, Walker Green, Darrian Cox, Colby Barradas; top middle row - Bella Barker, Aiden Falkinburg, Nick Vail, Brett Boor; front middle row - Abby Zang, Graciela Garcia, Lexi Voepel, Ruby Howell, Hogan Thompson; front row - Abby Green, Kierra Messick, Kahrie Stegman, Amee Hidalgo, Kylee Hopkins, Colby Gordon, Alyssa Green.

Pratt High School Forensics had a banner evening as they competed at Medicine Lodge's tournament in a field of 10 teams. They brought home the second place trophy in a close match, earning 217 points to Pretty Prairie's small-but-mighty team earning 220 points. Clearwater came in third place with 208 points.

Pratt also brought home 16 medals in finals. Of those, four qualified for state championships and three qualified for state festival. Junior Ruby Howell, especially, earned great success with #1 in both Informative speaking and extemporaneous speaking. Also receiving #1 were junior Colby Barradas in serious solo acting and junior Kylee Hopkins in oration.

Qualifying for state festival were senior Abby Green with #4 in poetry, junior Hogan Thompson with # 4 in impromptu speaking, and  junior Aiden Falkinburg with #6 in poetry.

Novice freshmen also had a banner day with Colby Gordon, Graciela Garcia, and Alyssa Green all making it to finals against competitors who were upperclassmen and who had greater experience.

Next the team travels to a larger tournament at Sterling High School where they will be competing against 20 teams.

The PHS results from Mediciine Lodge were the following:


#1 Ruby Howell in Informative Speaking

#1 Ruby Howell in Extemporaneous Speaking

#1 Kylee Hopkins in Oration

#1 Colby Barradas in Serious Solo


#4 Abby Green in Poetry

#4 Hogan Thompson in Impromptu Speaking

#6 Aiden Falkingburg in Poetry


#3 Darrian Cox in Serious Solo

#3 Hogan Thompson and Rafe Donnenwerth in Duet Acting

#4 Alyssa Green in Serious Solo

#4 Nick Vail in Extemporaneous Speaking

#5 Amee Hidalgo in Oration

#5 Graciela Garcia in Serious Solo

#6 Colby Gordon in Prose

#6 Kahrie Stegman in Serious Solo

#6 Kahrie Stegman in Oration

#6 Bella Barker in Humorous Solo


Brett Boor, Walker Green, Kierra Messick, Abby Zang