Kansas young farmers, ranchers attend leadership conference

Pratt Tribune
Nick Panek, Pratt County, receives the Young Farmer and Rancher of the Year award at the 2021 Kansas Farm Bureau leaders conference in Manhattan last month.

Nick Panek from Pratt County won YF&R of the Year. Mike and Ashley Beying from Osage County won Excellence in Agriculture during the July 30 to 31 annual Young Farmers and Ranchers leaders conference in Manhattan.

The conference is normally hosted in January but was rescheduled due to COVID-19. More than 250 young crop and livestock producers from across the state attended the two-day Kansas Farm Bureau conference designed to maximize efficiency on their family operations. 

The conference provided young ag producers between the ages of 18-35 with agricultural education, motivational speakers and opportunities to connect with industry resources and network with peers. 

Attendees heard from KFB President Rich Felts; Jon Iverson, American Farm Bureau Federation YF&R Committee Chair from Oregon; Rob Sharkey, a grain farmer and influencer from Illinois; and Tyne Morgan, the host of the U.S. Farm Report. Participants also had the opportunity to learn about farm safety with three grain bin safety demonstrations. 

State committee members from each of the 10 Kansas Farm Bureau districts planned and hosted the conference that included workshops, speakers, tours and competitions. The YF&R state committee played an integral part in making this year’s conference a success. 

Recordings featuring keynote speakers and select workshops will be made available online soon. To learn more, go to kfb.org/yfr.